Why MUD’s Exist

A Municipal Utility District (MUD) is a special purpose governmental entity of the State of Texas. Regulated by the Texas Commission on Environmental Quality (TCEQ), the MUD’s primary function is to provide water, wastewater and in some cases, drainage services within its boundaries. A MUD may sell bonds, levy and collect taxes, provide and charge for water and sewer services, build infrastructure, condemn property, and make regulations to accomplish its purposes.

All Municipal Utility Districts are managed by an elected Board of Directors. Each Director on the Board is a resident or a property owner within the boundaries of the District. The Board of Directors conducts a meeting, usually every month to transact the business of the District. These meetings are open to the public, and you are welcome to attend the meetings of your District. For meeting information, please click the ‘District’ tab or contact the District’s Attorneys at (832) 789-1889.

For more information about TCEQ, please visit their official site at www.tceq.texas.gov.

District’s “Authority” Alliance

Central Harris County Regional Water Authority (the “Authority”)

Harris County MUD 304 is a member District of the Central Harris County Regional Water Authority. As a result of their purpose for the reduction of groundwater mandates set by the State of Texas, our District is now a converted customer of the “Authority” for “surface water”.

The “Authority” Public Meetings Dates: 1st Wednesday of the Month.

Location: IDS Engineering Group, Inc.
13430 Northwest Freeway
Suite 700
Houston, TX 77040

For more information, please visit their website at www.chcrwa.com.